Some New Jersey lawmakers are sponsoring a bill that would prohibit drivers from drinking coffee— but Daily Voice wants to know:
What Else Should Be Banned While Driving?
Pets On Laps
Bill A-1908 , modeled after a law in Maine, would prohibit drivers from doing anything other than operating a motor vehicle.
Violators could be fined between $200 and $400 for the first offense and between $400 and $600 if it happens again.
Any subsequent violations could result in a $600 to $800 fine, a license suspension and motor vehicle points.
The bill — which concerns any act of distracted driving — is intended to educate and not punish drivers, sponsors Assemblyman John Wisnieweski (D-Middlesex) and Nicholas Chiaravalloti (D-Hudson) said.
CLICK HERE to see the Bill A-1908.
Click here to sign up for Daily Voice's free daily emails and news alerts.